Image of Risk, Risk Management and Insurance: Why Agents Are NOT Risk Managers
Webcast

Risk, Risk Management and Insurance: Why Agents Are NOT Risk Managers


Total Credits: 3 including 3 CE Credit


Dates

Price



Description

“Risk” is not our enemy. In fact, risk is necessary for a society to survive and prosper. To prepare for the risks inherent in everything we do, we must understand the concept of risk, learn how to measure risk and be prepared to manage it.

“Risk management” and “Insurance” are not synonymous. Risk management is a process combining methods for reducing or avoiding an undesirable event. Insurance is only one tool used in risk management that combines the concepts of risk transfer and risk sharing.

 

Students attending this class learn:

  • How to define risk;
  • What is “at risk;”
  • The seven-step risk management process;
  • How to measure risk
  • Where insurance fits into the risk management process
  • The elements of an insurable risk; and
  • Key theories applicable insurance. 

Course Materials

Faculty

Christopher J. Boggs's Profile

Christopher J. Boggs Related seminars and products: 8

CPCU, ARM, ALCM, LPCS, AAI, APA, CWCA, CRIS, AINS


Christopher J. Boggs, CPCU, ARM, ALCM, LPCS, AAI, APA, CWCA, CRIS, AINS, joined the insurance industry in 1990. He is the Executive Director of the Independent Insurance Agents and Brokers of America (Big "I") Virtual University. His current duties involve researching, writing, and teaching property and casualty insurance coverages and concepts to Big "I" members and others in the insurance industry.

 

During his career, Boggs has authored more than 300 insurance and risk management-related articles on a wide range of topics as diverse as Credit Default Swaps, the MCS-90, and enterprise risk management. In addition to this, Boggs has written 13 insurance and risk management books:

  • "The Insurance Professional's Practical Guide to Workers' Compensation: From History through Audit," now in its second edition;
  • "Business Income Insurance Demystified: The Simplified Guide to Time Element Coverages," now in its third edition;
  • "Property and Casualty Insurance Concepts Simplified: The Ultimate 'How to' Insurance Guide for Agents, Brokers, Underwriters and Adjusters;"
  • "Wow! I Never Knew That! 12 of the Most Misunderstood and Misused P&C Coverages, Concepts and Exclusions;"
  • "Insurance, Risk & Risk Management! The Insurance Professional's Guide to Risk Management and Insurance;"
  • "Workers' Compensation: How You Can Effectively Answer Your Clients 12 Most Commonly Asked Questions;"
  • "Glossary of Insurance Terms;"
  • "Choosing the Best Risk Financing Option;"
  • "Writing Property and Liability Coverage for Condos;"
  • "The Truth about Enterprise Risk Management;"
  • "The Experience Mod Worksheet;"
  • "What has ISO Done to us Now?" and
  • "Cancellations, Non-Renewals & Conditional Renewals: THE Insurance Professional's Guide to Statutory Insurance Carrier Notification Requirements for All 50 States!"

 

Boggs is a regular speaker at industry events, speaking for groups such as the National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC), the National Society of Insurance Premium Auditors (NSIPA), the American Association of Managing General Agents (AAMGA), the Institute of Work Comp Professionals (IWCP), and the CPCU Society.

A graduate of Liberty University with a bachelor's degree in Journalism, Boggs' background includes work as a risk management consultant, loss control representative, producer, claims manager, and quality assurance specialist


Dates

Thu, Oct 08, 2020 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Wed, Oct 14, 2020 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Thu, Oct 15, 2020 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Wed, Nov 11, 2020 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Thu, Nov 12, 2020 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Thu, Nov 19, 2020 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Wed, Dec 09, 2020 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Thu, Dec 10, 2020 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Thu, Dec 17, 2020 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Tue, Jan 05, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Wed, Jan 13, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Thu, Jan 21, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Tue, Feb 09, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Wed, Feb 17, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Thu, Feb 25, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Tue, Mar 09, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Wed, Mar 17, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Thu, Mar 25, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Tue, Apr 13, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Wed, Apr 21, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Thu, Apr 29, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Tue, May 11, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Wed, May 19, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Thu, May 27, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Tue, Jun 08, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Wed, Jun 16, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Thu, Jun 24, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Tue, Jul 13, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Wed, Jul 21, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Thu, Jul 29, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Tue, Aug 10, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Wed, Aug 18, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Thu, Aug 26, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Tue, Sep 14, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Wed, Sep 22, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Thu, Sep 30, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Tue, Oct 12, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Wed, Oct 20, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Thu, Oct 28, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Tue, Nov 02, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EDT
Wed, Nov 10, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Thu, Nov 18, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Tue, Dec 07, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Wed, Dec 15, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST
Thu, Dec 23, 2021 - 01:00pm to 03:51pm EST

State Specific Details

State Approval Information Details

KS - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course# 6000013837

Note -  KAIA will file your earned CE electronically within 10 business day after course completions

MI - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#78953

TN - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#30271

NY -This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course# NYCR-258930

​GA - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#54160

LA - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#30296

NE - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE (Ethics) - Course#38369

UT - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course# 35848

NJ - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#88900362

MT - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#6000031956

ME - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#25732

WV - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course # 106477

IL - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#6000028636 ​

AZ - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#105800

IN - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#37511 

MD - This course is approved for 3 hrs CE - Course#106853

 


Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

Overall:      4.6

Total Reviews: 258

Please wait ...

Back to Top